Classic 107 - Winnipeg's classical and jazz radio station.

The Latest

Tuesday September 13

Why hurry over beautiful things? Why not linger and enjoy them?


-  Clara Schumann

Monday September 12

The French are true romantics. They feel the only difference between a man of forty and one of seventy is thirty years of experience.


-  French actor and singer Maurice Chevalier

Sunday September 11

Silence is the pause in me when I am near to God.


-  Arvo Pärt

Saturday September 10

As poetry is the harmony of words, so music is that of notes; and as poetry is a rise above prose and oratory, so is music the exaltation of poetry.


-  Henry Purcell

Friday September 09

We are all apprentices in a craft where no one ever becomes a master.


-  Ernest Hemingway

Thursday September 08

The music of the people is like a rare and lovely flower growing amidst encroaching weeds. Thousands pass it, while others trample it under foot, and thus the chances are that it will perish before it is seen by the one discriminating spirit who will prize it above all else.


Antonín Dvoƙák

Wednesday September 07

We want to know where our money's going. We want to know that we're going to hear a famous person and that they're going to play a famous piece. We don't want to go to hear an unknown soloist, we don't want to go to hear an unknown composer. Why? Why?? I think people have lost touch with what it means to evaluate music and performers. They really don't have that ability anymore.


-  Composer Joan Tower

Tuesday September 06

If children are not introduced to music at an early age, I believe something fundamental is actually being taken from them.

-  Luciano Pavarotti

Friday September 02

If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world.
- J.R.R. Tolkien

Monday September 05

A concert is not a live rendition of our album. It's a theatrical event!
- Freddie Mercury

Sunday September 04

The most difficult thing in music is still to write a melody of several bars which can be self-sufficient. That is the secret of music . . .Anybody can acquire a brilliant technique Melody alone permits a work to survive.
- Darius Milhaud

Saturday September 03

Film is one of the three universal languages, the other two: mathematics and music.
- Frank Capra