Classic 107 - Winnipeg's classical and jazz radio station.

The Latest

Friday February 17

Beethoven tells you what it's like to be Beethoven and Mozart tells you what it's like to be human. Bach tells you what it's like to be the universe.

        - Douglas Adams

 

Thursday February 16

Fantasy, abandoned by reason, produces impossible monsters; united with it, she is the mother of the arts and the origin of marvels.


― Francisco de Goya

 

Wednesday February 15

If I had my life to live over again, I would have made a rule to read some poetry and listen to some music at least once every week.


― Charles Darwin

 

Tuesday February 14

Love looks not with the eyes, but with the mind,
And therefore is winged Cupid painted blind.

― William Shakespeare, A Midsummer Night's Dream

 

Monday February 13

I believe in God, Mozart, and Beethoven.


                 - Richard Wagner

 

Sunday February 12

Ignorance more frequently begets confidence than does knowledge: it is those who know little, and not those who know much, who so positively assert that this or that problem will never be solved by science.


- Charles Darwin

 

Saturday February 11

I have done my duty on earth. I have accomplished what I could, and my final wish is to be allowed to finish my Ninth Symphony . . . I trust that death will not deprive me of my pen.

- Anton Bruckner

Friday February 10

I think the job of the artist is to remind people of what they have chosen to forget.
- Arthur Miller

 

Thursday February 09

All the world’s a jest, man is born a joker, and he who laughs last laughs best.
                                                                         

- Falstaff, Giuseppe Verdi

 

Wednesday February 08

Man, a mere inhabitant of the earth, cannot overstep its boundaries! But though he is confined to its crust, he may penetrate into all its secrets.

- Jules Verne

 

Tuesday February 07

Would you like to swing on a star, Carry moonbeams home in a jar. And be better off than you are
Or would you rather be a mule?


- Swinging on a Star, Jimmy Burke & Jimmy Van Heusen

 

 

Monday February 06

An interpreter must give his blood to the work interpreted.
- Claudio Arrau